European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

World Premiere of Victoria Borisova-Ollas's Exodus: Departure

May. 03, 2018

World Premiere of Victoria Borisova-Ollas's <em>Exodus: Departure</em>

The world premiere of Victoria Borisova-Ollas’s Exodus: Departure for solo clarinet and orchestra takes place on May 31 at the Stora Salen in Stockholm, Sweden. Martin Fröst leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in the dual roles of conductor and clarinet soloist. The program will be repeated on June 2.

Borisova-Ollas describes her new work in detail:

“There are many expressive details in the Biblical story of Exodus which have triggered the imagination of countless artists, poets, authors, filmmakers throughout the centuries....

Nowadays we are getting more and more immune about no less incredible events than the story of a stubborn little tribe taking off suddenly on the search for a Promised Land, leaving behind...[a] rather civilised environment, and plunging into scary sea waters without any fear at all, and wandering for eternity in a plain desert....

Every story [in Exodus], however richly decorated, has a beginning full of hope and a very determined and cruel end. So does the life of everyone and everything on this Earth. Even the Earth itself.

Exodus: Departure was written especially for a world-famous Swedish clarinetist Martin Fröst for his concert series Exit where he appears as soloist, conductor, and narrator.”

Please enjoy Victoria Borisova-Ollas’s The Kingdom of Silence (2003):

(The Kingdom of Silence/Victoria Borisova-Ollas/Sverre Bruland-Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra/
Andrey Boreiko, conductor)

To learn more about Victoria Borisova-Ollas, please visit

Victoria Borisova-Ollas
Exodus: Departure (2016)
for orchestra