European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Volume II of Osamu Kawakami's Suite 'Carapace' is Published

Mar. 01, 2021

Following the first volume of Osamu Kawakami's Suite "Carapace" for violin, cello and piano, published in July 2016, the long-awaited second volume in the series of works for piano trio has become available for sale.

Suite “Carapace” consists of fifteen small pieces, composed over a period of ten years beginning in 2005, and divided into three collections depending on the time when it was composed. As the title suggests, the entire collections of works was composed with crustaceans and related aquatic organisms in mind.

Five works, composed between 2008 and 2010, are published in the second volume: Swimming CrabWater FleaSkeleton ShrimpHarlequin Shrimp and Sea Scorpion. In each work, the ecology and texture unique to these creatures is reflected via the keen, observant eye and imagination of the composer through many different perspectives; sometimes microscopically, and other times as though surveying the bottom of the ocean, maximizing the sonic possibilities of the piano trio.

In 2019, Banded Coral Shrimp, which will be published in a forthcoming Volume IV, was composed for violinist Akiko Suwanai. The world premiere of the work was presented at the concert ‘Akiko Plays MODERN with Friends’ which was part of ‘International Music Festival NIPPON 2020’ at Kioi Hall in February 2020. Kawakami is planning to compose new works in the “Carapace” series bringing to players and listeners with each new piece a refreshing sense of surprise.

Listen to Osamu Kawakami's Gatling carapaces (2015):

(Gatling carapaces/Osamu Kawakami/Ken-ichi Toubaru, oboe; Ayano Suehiro, trumpet;
Yoshu Kamei, violin; Takahiro Yasuda, viola; Seiko Takemoto, cello; Shizuka Kuretani, piano;
Mizuki Aita and Takayuki Suzuki, percussion; Tomoki Tai, conductor)

Osamu Kawakami
Suite “Carapace” Volume II
for violin, violoncello and piano


Swimming Crab
score and parts
SJ 1200
ISBN : 978-4-89066-504-4
ISMN : 979-0-65001-286-7
JAN : 192-3073-02200-9


Water Flea
score and parts
SJ 1201
ISBN : 978-4-89066-505-1
ISMN : 979-0-65001-287-4
JAN : 192-3073-02000-5


Skeleton Shrimp
score and parts
SJ 1202
ISBN : 978-4-89066-506-8
ISMN : 979-0-65001-288-1
JAN : 192-3073-02300-6


Harlequin Shrimp
score and parts
SJ 1203
ISBN : 978-4-89066-507-5
ISMN : 979-0-65001-289-8
JAN : 192-3073-02200-9


Sea Scorpion
score and parts
SJ 1204
ISBN : 978-4-89066-508-2
ISMN : 979-0-65001-290-4
JAN : 192-3073-02200-9