European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Tansy Davies Joins the Faculty of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music

Sep. 01, 2019

Tansy Davies Joins the Faculty of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music

The Indiana University Jacobs School of Music announced the appointment of Tansy Davies as Associate Professor of Music Composition, effective August 1, 2019. Davies's recent positions include Associate Professor at the Royal Academy of Music, a post that she still occupies, and Composer-in-Residence at Amsterdam's Concertgebouw during the 2018-2019 season.

“Professor Davies has established herself as a highly individualized voice in composition today,” said Gwyn Richards, David Henry Jacobs Bicentennial Dean. “Her music doesn’t reside in an airtight box, but is, rather, out on the street, friendly, aggressive, mingling with rock. She blends classical, contemporary and rock elements, oft times influenced by art, architecture and ritual. Her arrival at Indiana University is highly anticipated."

David Dzubay, chair of the Composition Department said: “It is truly a coup to welcome internationally renowned composer Tansy Davies to our thriving community at the Jacobs School,”. He added that she will bring "a fresh infusion of ideas, enlivening all that we do here in Bloomington and beyond. We are thrilled that she will be joining us!”

Tansy Davies is a British-born composer who studied at Guildhall School of Music and Drama and at Royal Holloway, University of London. Her music has been championed internationally by ensembles including the New York Philharmonic, Ensemble Intercontemporain and the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, and at festivals including Ultima, Présences and the Warsaw Autumn Festival.

“I’m delighted to accept this position at the IU Jacobs School of Music,” said Davies about the appointment. “I felt an instant affinity with the school when I visited a couple of years ago and enjoyed a stunning performance of my piano concerto ‘Nature.’ I have the strongest impression of the Composition Department, as people, musicians and teachers, and I look forward to working together to support the creation of amazing new music.”

Davies will be welcomed to the faculty with a special portrait concert on September 26, directed by David Dzubay. The concert will feature the US premieres of Antenoux and Falling Angel, alongside a piece by guest composer David Ludwig, Paganina.  Antenoux, a five-minute work for an ensemble of ten players, fluctuates between two kinds of energy: sultry and brooding cycles of highly rhythmic material in guitar, bass, and percussion, and more linear phrases. Gleaming and incandescent, the distinctive peal of the steel drum permeates Falling Angel, Davies’s Anselm Kiefer-inspired ensemble work. The German artist’s rough layers of impasto are paralleled in 17 minutes of thick and urgent textures; brazen fanfares, a murmuring film of horns and alto flute, and scraping, skirling dances from a host of shrill winds.

(Falling Angel/Davies/Birmingham Contemporary Music Group)

To learn more about Tansy Davies visit:

Tansy Davies
Antenoux (2017) gtr.bass gtr.1-pno.vln.vla.vlc

Falling Angel (2006)
for chamber ensemble of 17 players
1(afl, pic).1(ca).1(bcl).1Eb(bcl).1(cbsn)-2.2(2flhn)-2perc-electric keyboard (on harpischord setting)-2vln.vla.vcl.db