European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

New Version of Jörg Widmann’s Choralquartett Arranged for Chamber Orchestra and World Premiere of String Quartet No. 7

Jan. 01, 2020

New Version of Jörg Widmann’s <em>Choralquartett</em> Arranged for Chamber Orchestra and World Premiere of <em>String Quartet No. 7</em>

On January 31, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, led by Mitsuko Uchida, will give the first performance of a new version of Jörg Widmann’s Choralquartett, arranged for chamber orchestra, at the Fundación Baluarte’s Sala Principal. Scored for flute, oboe, bassoon, celesta (ad lib.) and string orchestra, this new version of the Choralquartett for chamber orchestra was commissioned by Konzerthaus Dortmund, KölnMusik, and Carnegie Hall. 

The Artemis Quartet will give the premiere performance of Jörg Widmann’s String Quartet No. 7 on January 15 at the Philharmonie in Cologne. The composer describes his new work:

“My String Quartet No. 7– the second of my ‘Beethoven studies’ – is the first of my quartets to possess a two-movement structure. The density of texture is additionally enhanced, meaning that the opening Grave is internally so jaggedly animated that it is never quite clear whether it is perhaps an Allegro movement after all. The second movement is a mirror image of the first: it begins with a playful pizzicato Allegro – initially tentative attempts towards a calm, chorale-like cantabile are repeatedly rebuffed by new fast elements. Ultimately, a melodious hymn exhalting in the greatest heights succeeds in establishing itself.”

Listen to Jörg's Widmann's first Violin Concerto (2007) here:

(Violin Concerto/Jörg Widmann/Bamberger Symphoniker/Jonathan Nott, conductor/
Alina Pogostkina, violin)

To learn more about Jörg Widmann, visit:

Jörg Widmann
Choralquartett (2003, rev. 2019)
version for flute, oboe, bassoon, celesta (ad lib), and string orchestra

String Quartet No. 7 (2020)