European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Tansy Davies's Forest Debuts with Esa-Pekka Salonen at the Philharmonia Orchestra

Feb. 01, 2017

Tansy Davies's <em>Forest</em> Debuts with Esa-Pekka Salonen at the Philharmonia Orchestra

Forest, a new concerto for four horns and orchestra by Tansy Davies, receives its world premiere on February 21 with Esa-Pekka Salonen leading the Philharmonia Orchestra. The premiere takes place at The Anvil in Basingstoke, UK and features the orchestra’s horn section as soloists.

The French horn, Davies’s own instrument, has always occupied a special place in her music—buzzing away abrasively in her ensemble work Falling Angel or crying out with yearning in her orchestral labyrinth Wild Card—but it will be especially spotlighted in Forest. Co-commissioned by the New York Philharmonic, Philharmonia Orchestra and the Warsaw Autumn Festival, the 20-minute work was the brainchild of Salonen, who will conduct the premiere and who is himself a horn player.

In a preview trailer for the premiere (below), Davies discusses her inspiration for the piece, particularly the relationship of the horn and its origins in the forest: 


Following the world premiere, Forest receives subsequent performances by Salonen and the Philharmonia Orchestra at the Royal Festival Hall in London (February 23) and the Auditorio Nacional de Música in Madrid (February 25) before receiving its US premiere with the New York Philharmonic on April 27 at David Geffen Hall in New York City.

More information on Tansy Davies can be found at

Tansy Davies
Forest (2016)
a concerto for four horns

Falling Angel (2006)
for chamber ensemble of 17 players
1(afl, pic).1(ca).1(bcl).1Eb(bcl).1(cbsn)-2.2(2flhn)-2perc-electric keyboard (on harpischord setting)-2vln.vla.vcl.db

Wild Card (2010)
for orchestra
3(2.pic, with A extension)-4.3.2.btbn.1-timp-4perc-pno-hp-str