European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

World Premiere of Kenji Sakai’s Viola Concerto “Historia”

Oct. 01, 2019

World Premiere of Kenji Sakai’s <em>Viola Concerto “Historia”</em>

On October 20, the Kyoto Symphony Orchestra, led by Junichi Hirokami, performs the world premiere of Kenji Sakai’s Viola Concerto “Historia” in the Main Hall of the Kyoto Concert Hall. The work, commissioned by the Kyoto Symphony Orchestra features the KSO’s principal violist, Koichi Komine, as the soloist. 

It has been a productive year for Sakai, whose Detune for wind orchestra received its world premiere from the Nagoya Philharmonic Wind Orchestra, led by Takeshi Ooi, on September 21 at the NTK Hall Forest Hall in Nagoya, and was performed again on October 5 by the Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra, also led by Takeshi Ooi, at the ensemble’s 145th subscription concert at the Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre. 

Listen to Kenji Sakai’s Violin Concerto here:

(Violin Concerto/Kenji Sakai/National Orchestra of Belgium/Gilbert Varga, conductor)

To learn more about Kenji Sakai, visit:

Kenji Sakai
Viola Concerto “Historia”(2019)
2(2.pic).3.2.2- solo