European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

World Premiere of Jörg Widmann’s Tanz auf dem Vulkan

May. 03, 2018

World Premiere of Jörg Widmann’s <em>Tanz auf dem Vulkan</em>

The Berlin Philharmonic presents the world premiere of Jörg Widmann’s Tanz auf dem Vulkan on May 27 at the Philharmonie in Berlin on a program that also features Witold Lutosławski’s Symphony No. 3 and Johannes Brahms’s Symphony No. 1. The Berlin Philharmonic will perform Widmann's new work several times in the coming months: at the Royal Festival Hall in London on May 31, the Großer Saal of the Musikverein in Austria on June 2, the Philharmonie in Köln on June 6, the Auditorio Nacional de Música in Madrid on June 7, and the Palau de la Música Catalana, Sala de Concerts in Barcelona on June 8.

Widmann composed Tanz auf dem Vulkanas as a farewell piece for Sir Simon Rattle, who will step down as Principal Conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic this year following a sixteen-year tenure with the ensemble. The composer notes:

“Over the past few years, I have been closely involved with the Berlin Philharmonic in an intense musical partnership and was therefore only too pleased to fulfill their request to compose a short farewell piece for Sir Simon. My composition has evolved into an insistently explosive work. The job description for a chief conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic in my opinion is very aptly described by these four words: Dance on the volcano.”

Listen to Jörg Widmann’s Viola Concerto (2015) here:

(Viola Concerto/Jörg Widmann/hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony/
Antoine Tamestit, viola/Andrés Orozco-Estrada, conductor)

To learn more about Jörg Widmann, visit

Jörg Widmann
Tanz auf dem Vulkan (2018)
for orchestra
3(1-3.pic).3( in A( E &bcl, 3.cbcl.3(