European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Shai Wosner and ECCO Give the World Premiere of Christopher Cerrone's The Air Suspended

Oct. 01, 2019

Shai Wosner and ECCO Give the World Premiere of Christopher Cerrone's <em>The Air Suspended</em>

Shai Wosner and the East Coast Chamber Orchestra (ECCO) premiere Christopher Cerrone's concerto for piano and strings, The Air Suspended at Harris Concert Hall on October 23 in Memphis, Tennessee. ECCO and Shai Wosner give additional performances of the work on October 25 at the Kimmel Center as part of the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society's concert series, and on October 27 at the Kaufmann Concert Hall at the 92nd Street Y. Later this season, the Cayuga Chamber Orchestra and Shai Wosner perform the work at Ford Hall, Ithaca College, under the baton of Cornelia Laemmli Orth on November 23. Tito Muñoz leads The Phoenix Symphony and Shai Wosner in performances of The Air Suspended at Symphony Hall in Phoenix, Arizona, on March 6-8. Finally, the Albany Symphony and Wosner, led by David Alan Miller, perform the work at Troy Savings Bank Music Hall in Albany, New York on March 14-15.

Click here to watch Christopher Cerrone and Shai Wosner discuss The Air Suspended.

The composer notes: 

"The Air Suspended is a piano concerto inspired by changes of weather, and the enormous reserves of energy required to accomplish such a transformation. In my piece, the solo pianist is the energy source: he—in this case, the spectacular Shai Wosner—plays highly kinetic music continuously throughout the 16-minute work. The string orchestra captures his musical material, which it transforms, accretes, and dissipates, like weather patterns.

The opening movement, “From Ground to Cloud,” draws its title from Ben Lerner’s long poem, Mean Free Path:

This movement from the ground to cloud 
Of waves decaying slowly on plucked strings 
Is lightning.

The form of the movement was inspired by a video of Ground-To-Cloud lightning—lightning that appears to come up from the ground—and structurally works in the form of three strikes: the low rumbling material in the piano suddenly breaks into a series of jagged and explosive gestures at the top of the piano.

The second movement, “Dissolving Margins,” takes it title from Elena Ferrante’s book, My Brilliant Friend:

The thing was happening to her that I mentioned and that she later called dissolving margins.  It was — she told me — as if, on the night of a full moon over the sea, the intense black mass of a storm advanced across the sky, swallowing every light, eroding the circumference of the moon’s circle, and disfiguring the shining disk, reducing it to its true nature of rough insensate material.  
The movement begins simply and starkly, with a gentle arpeggio repeated in the piano against a single sustained and muted violin, hanging in the air. But slowly a storm approaches: each of the strings catches one of the piano’s notes and slowly accretes into a tempest of chaotic pizzicati and sul ponticello bowing.

The second movement proceeds straight into the third movement, “Stutter, Like Rain,” again drawing its title from Ben Lerner:

...but now, in the dark, I heard
The little delays. If you would speak of love
Stutter, like rain

The music here is a series of glitched loops, where the strings slowly pick up the jagged, repeated gestures in the piano with rapid changes of tempo. The movement—which moves from this jagged opening material to quotes from prior movements to a fully composed cadenza, closes suddenly with one final lightning flash and a sharp cutoff of all instruments, which itself inspired the title of the concerto, a line from "Four Quartets" by T.S. Eliot: 

Dust in the air suspended
Marks the place where a story ended.

The Air Suspended was commissioned for Shai Wosner by the Phoenix Symphony with support from the Adele and John Gray Foundation, Albany Symphony, and the 92nd Street Y, with support from Richard Replin & Elissa Stein. It is dedicated, with gratitude, to Shai Wosner."

Listen to Christopher Cerrone's Meander, Spiral, Explode (2019) here:
(Meander, Spiral, Explode/Christopher Cerrone/Chicago Civic Orchestra/
Third Coast Percussion, soloists/Ken-David Masur)

To learn more about Christopher Cerrone, visit: and 

Christopher Cerrone
The Air Suspended (2019)
concerto for piano and strings
(min, max
I. From Ground to Cloud - II. Dissolving Margins  - III. Stutter, like rain