European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

World Premiere of Aribert Reimann's Fragments de Rilke in Berlin

Feb. 01, 2019

World Premiere of Aribert Reimann's <em>Fragments de Rilke</em> in Berlin

On February 23, The Berlin Philharmonic, led by Robin Ticciati, and featuring soprano Rachel Harnisch, presents the world premiere of Aribert Reimann's Fragments de Rilke. The composer notes:

"My preoccupation with the French poetry fragments of Rainer Maria Rilke goes back to when I began to plan my most recent opera L’Invisible, based on the work of the Belgian poet Maurice Maeterlinck, as Rilke wrote a great deal about Maeterlinck. Prior to composing Fragments de Rilke for soprano and orchestra, I had already created a few settings with piano. The 12 orchestrated fragments are linked by interludes, which are variations on the original material, up until the tenth fragment ‘On fait à la terre une nouvelle surface’. In the final fragment ‘Profond amour qui de la terre s'élève’, the intellectual objective has been achieved." 

Listen to Reimann's Requiem (1980/82) here:


(Requiem/Aribert Reimann/Julia Varady, soprano; Helga Dernesch, mezzo-soprano;
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, baritone/RIAS-Kammerchor/Uwe Gronostay, director/
Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin/Gerd Albrecht, conductor)

To learn more about Aribert Reimann, visit

Aribert Reimann
Fragments de Rilke (2018)
for soprano and orchestra C, B).2tbn. (2. mit Quartventil)-str(