European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

US Premiere of Jonny Greenwood's Water with Australian Chamber Orchestra

Apr. 01, 2015

US Premiere of Jonny Greenwood's <em>Water</em> with Australian Chamber Orchestra

Following its world premiere in 2014, Jonny Greenwood's Water receives its American premiere at Stanford University on April 10 as part of the Australian Chamber Orchestra's US tour, directed by Richard Tognetti. The tour culminates in the work's New York premiere on April 26 in a performance at Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall. Additional performances take place at Clayton State University (April 12), Princeton University (April 16), Virginia Tech (April 17), Dartmouth College (April 19), Florida's Broward Center fore the Performing Arts (April 22) and Eastern Kentucky University (April 24). 

Water was commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra, who worked closely with Greenwood to develop a taut and nuanced work employing a unique instrumentation. The work is scored for two flutes, amplified upright piano, chamber organ, string orchestra, and one or two tanpuras. The inclusion of the tanpura, a traditional Indian drone instrument, came as a result of Tognetti’s initial desire for Greenwood to employ electronics alongside the orchestra. Throughout the work, Greenwood manages to incorporate the tanpura in unique and surprising ways.

Greenwood established himself as a significant compositional force with his award-winning score for the 2007 film There Will Be Blood. In 2012, Greenwood created the Suite from There Will be Blood, scored for string orchestra with ondes martenot. This arrangement has since received numerous performances around the world, including one this month by the Colorado Symphony Orchestra. The performance, under the direction of Scott O’Neil, takes place on April 25 at Boettcher Concert Hall in Denver. 

For more information on Jonny Greenwood, please visit

Visit for tickets and information.

Jonny Greenwood
Water (2014)
for chamber orchestra
2fl-1 or 2 tanpuras-pno(amplified, upright).chamber org(sampler kybd)-str(10vn.3va.3vc.1db)

Suite from ‘There Will Be Blood’ (2012)
for string orchestra with ondes martenot (or oboe)