European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

World Premieres of Two New Works for Solo Piano by Vijay Iyer

Jun. 24, 2022

World Premieres of Two New Works for Solo Piano by Vijay Iyer

Last month saw the world premieres of two works for solo piano by Vijay Iyer. For My Father, composed in memory of the composer's father, Dr. Yegnaswami Raghunathan, was commissioned by DACAMERA and premiered by Sarah Rothenberg on May 10 at The Menil Collection in Houston, Texas. Plinth (for Kwame Ture)was premiered by Shai Wosner at the Wiener Konzerthaus on May 25. The piece was composed as a variation on a theme by Franklin D. Roosevelt: "Remember, remember always, that all of us are descended from immigrants and revolutionists." The composer notes:

"Plinth (for Kwame Ture) celebrates the life and activism of Kwame Ture (born Stokely Carmichael, 1941-1998), an immigrant from Trinidad to the U.S. who became a fierce champion for civil rights. With his robust critique, tireless organizing, and visionary transnational scope, Ture challenged the idea of the well-behaved, assimilated immigrant, instead committing himself to the cause of equal rights for all. This piece does not narrate his life, but aims to offer an occasion to contemplate his legacy, as a pedestal displays and gives support to a sculpture."

Listen to Vijay Iyer's Crown Thy Good from the "America/Beautiful" Project (2021):

(Crown Thy Good/Vijay Iyer/Min Kwon, piano)

To learn more about Vijay Iyer, visit:

Vijay Iyer
For My Father (2021)
In memoriam Y. Raghunathan (1933-2021)
for solo piano
I. Prelude: Orison
II. Fugue: Upastuti

Plinth (for Kwame Ture) (2020)
for solo piano