European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Toshio Hosokawa's Uzu Awarded the 68th Otaka Prize

May. 01, 2020

NHK Symphony Orchestra has announced that Toshio Hosokawa’s Uzu has been awarded the 68th Otaka Prize, an award initiated by the NHK Symphony Orchestra and conferred annually to a Japanese composer for an outstanding orchestral work.

Uzu is Toshio Hosokawa's fourth work to be awarded this prize; the first was Ferne Landschaft I (the 37th Otaka Prize), the second, Re-turning (the 50th Otaka Prize) and the third, Concerto for turmpet and orchestra - Im Nebel (the 62nd Otaka Prize).

Uzu was co-commissioned by Suntory Hall, Winter International Arts Festival Sochi, and Philharmonie Essen, and was composed to celebrate the 60th birthday of Hosokawa’s friend, Jun Märkl. The world premiere was performed by the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra conducted by Yoichi Sugiyama at the concert titled, Suntory Hall Composers’ Profile II 2019 “Toshio Hosokawa & Misato Mochizuki” - Suntory Foundation for the Arts 50th Anniversary.

The NHK Symphony Orchestra planned to perform Hosokawa's Uzu during the festival “Music Tomorrow 2020” at the Tokyo Opera City on May 4th, 2020. Due to the ongoing restrictions of COVID-19, the concert has unfortunately been cancelled.

Listen to Toshio Hosokawa's Mediation - To the Victims of Tsunami 3.11 (2011-12):

(Mediation - To the Victims of Tsunami 3.11/Toshio Hosokawa/Basque National Orchestra/Jun Märkl, conductor)

To learn more about Toshio Hosokawa, visit:

Toshio Hosokawa
Uzu (2019)
for orchestra
2(1.pic, 2.pic, afl).2( Left side group: 2perc-hp-str( Right side group: 2perc-hp-cele-str( Banda I: hn.tpt Banda II: hn.tbn