European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Thomas Larcher’s Ouroboros Performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony and Alisa Weilerstein

Jan. 01, 2020

Thomas Larcher’s <em>Ouroboros</em> Performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony and Alisa Weilerstein

The Frankfurt Radio Symphony, led by Andrés Orozco-Estrada, and featuring star cellist Alisa Weilerstein, present Thomas Larcher’s Ouroboros on January 16-17 at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt. Composed in 2015, Ouroboros was commissioned by a consortium of orchestra including the Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Lausanne Chamber Orchestra, Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Hong Kong Sinfonietta.  Larcher composed this work so it could be performed with or without a conductor. Constructed in three movements, the second movement is an extended cadenza for solo cello and piano. Unlike in traditional concerti, the soloist acts as an initiator of processes rather than a virtuosic centerpiece. Its rhythmically complex textures require the orchestra to listen and play as if they were a much smaller ensemble.

Listen to Thomas Larcher's Symphony No. 2 ‘Kenotaph’ (2015-16) here:
(Symphony No. 2 ‘Kenotaph’/Thomas Larcher/BBC Symphony Orchestra/Semyon Bychkov, conductor)

For more information on Thomas Larcher, visit

Thomas Larcher
Ouroboros (2015)
for cello and chamber orchestra
vc solo-perc-pno-str