European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Music of Peteris Vasks at the Vale of Glamorgan Festival in Wales

Sep. 01, 2021

The Vale of Glamorgan Festival, which took place from September 12-16 in Wales, included a number of works by the Festival's featured artist, Pēteris Vasks. On September 13, the Solem Quartet performed Pēteris Vasks's String Quartet no. 2 "Summer Tunes", and String Quartet no. 3, and they presented String Quartet No. 1 and The Fruit of Silence alongside works by three leading Welsh composers on the following day. The presenters note: "Pēteris Vasks's String Quartet No. 1 dates back to 1977 and reflects anger at Soviet oppression of his Latvian homeland. The piano quintet version of The Fruit of Silence, meanwhile, is a gentle piece inspired by Mother Teresa’s words, “The fruit of silence is prayer”. The Fruit of Silence was originally composed for SATB choir, but was arranged for piano quintet and string quartet. Finally, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales performs Pēteris Vasks's Cantabile on September 15, under the baton of Geoffrey Paterson.

(Pēteris Vasks/Cantabile/Riga Philharmonic Orchestra/Kriss Rusmanis, conductor)

To learn more about Pēteris Vasks, visit:

Pēteris Vasks
String Quartet No. 1 (1977)
for string quartet

String Quartet No. 2 "Summer Tunes" (1984)
for string quartet

String Quartet No. 3 (1995)
for string quartet

The Fruit of Silence (2013, rev. 2016)
for string quartet

Cantabile (1979)
for string orchestra