European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Pēteris Vasks in Residence with the Oxford Chamber Music Festival

Sep. 01, 2017

Pēteris Vasks in Residence with the Oxford Chamber Music Festival

From September 27 to October 1, Pēteris Vasks joins the Oxford Chamber Music Festival in Oxford, England as Composer-in-Residence. The 12-day long festival features several of the composer’s works from solo and chamber music—including the world premiere of his Drei kleine Stücke for two violins—to his concerti and choral music.

For the festival’s opening concert on September 27, violinist and festival Artistic Director Priya Mitchell joins the O/Modernt Kammarorchester for a performance of Vasks’s Lonely Angel violin concerto, conducted by John Warner. Subtitled "Meditation for violin and string orchestra", Vasks's concerto draws on the composer's vision of an angel bringing comfort and healing to a damaged world—"This piece is my music after the pain," he writes. The opening concert also includes the premiere of Vasks's Drei kleine Stücke with Mitchell and violinist Hugo Ticciati.

(Violin Concerto "Distant Light"; Anthony Marwood, violin; Norwegian Chamber Orchestra)

Additional performances include Vasks’s first violin concerto, Distant Light, with Ticciati as soloist, Plainscapes for mixed choir, violin and cello, Te Deum for organ, White Scenery for solo piano, and his String Quartet No. 4. On September 30, the festival hosts a discussion between Vasks and BBC presenter Michael Berkeley about the composer’s life and creative process.

For more information on Pēteris Vasks, visit

Pēteris Vasks
Drei kleine Stücke (2017)
for two violins

Vientuļais eņģelis (Lonely Angel) (1996, rev. 2006)
Meditation for violin and string orchestra

Konzert (Distant Light) (1996-1997)
for violin and string orchestra

Plainscapes (2002)
for mixed choir (SSAATTBB), violin and cello

Te Deum (1991)
for organ

White Scenery (Winter) (1980)
for solo piano

String Quartet No. 4 (1999)