European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Critical Acclaim for New Version of Kurt Weill’s The Seven Deadly Sins and the Violin Concerto

Oct. 01, 2019

Critical Acclaim for New Version of Kurt Weill’s <em>The Seven Deadly Sins</em> and the <em>Violin Concerto</em>

On September 21, HK Gruber led Ensemble Modern, soprano Sarah Maria Sun, and amarcord in a successful world premiere of a new version for 15 players of Kurt Weill's ballet chanté The Seven Deadly Sinsas a part of the 2019 Beethoven Fest Bonn. Von Guido Krawinkel of the General Anziger noted that Sarah Maria Sun in the role of Anna "let the role’s many facets live…while amarcord gave the role of the Family great vocal and gestural presence.” Krawinkel likewise praised Gruber for conducting “with the utmost sophistication.”

This new version of the The Seven Deadly Sins, prepared by HK (Nali) Gruber and Christian Muthspiel was commissioned by the Kurt Weill Foundation, with support from Schott Music in order to promote fully staged productions of this enduring work in even more varied settings. Learn more about this exciting new version here.

Esa-Pekka Salonen led the Philharmonia Orchestra and violinist Christian Tetzlaff in a performance of Kurt Weill’s Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra at Royal Festival Hall in London on September 29. The work was part of a program titled “Weimar Berlin: The Party’s Over”, celebrating the music of composers writing during a time span that included the early years through the fall of the Weimar Republic.

(Violinist Benjamin Schmid talks about Kurt Weill's Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra with Universal Edition)

To learn more about Kurt Weil, visit:

Kurt Weil
The Seven Deadly Sins (1933/2019)
ballet chanté
Text by Bertolt Brecht
English translation by W. H. Auden and Chester Kallman 
Version for 15 players by HK Gruber and Christian Muthspiel  
Anna I · Soprano - Anna II · Dancer - The Family: Tenor I, II, Baritone, Bass (The Mother)

Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra, Op. 12 (1924)
2(pic).1.2.2- double basses