European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Matthias Pintscher Leads Ensemble InterContemporain in the Premiere of Chaya Czernowin's Fast Darkness II: freeze and melt in Paris

May. 01, 2021

Ensemble InterContemporain, under the baton of Matthias Pintscher, performs the world premiere of Chaya Czernowin's Fast Darkness II: freeze and melt on May 28 at the Philharmonie in Paris. Chaya Czernowin notes:

"Fast Darkness II: I freeze and melt is a sister piece to Fast Darkness I: I can see your turned eyes from inside your body. In both pieces there is a strong tilting and stretching or condensing of time. In Fast Darkness II, the idea of the orchestral color is extended to notions of white on white: a whole section where color has been taken away, sucked in. The cyclical but unpredictable movements of gestures spiraling out of control is incoherent with the idea of fire; its various atmospheres provide warmth and protectedness or a destructive uncontrolled force. The piece seems to look at the strange unpredictability of movement between these two states."

Listen to Chaya Czernowin's On the Face of the Deep BERESHIT (Genesis): Day 1 (2017):

(On the Face of the Deep/Chaya Czernowin/Ensemble InterContemporain/Matthias Pintscher)

To learn more about Chaya Czernowin, visit:

Chaya Czernowin
Fast Darkness II: I freeze and melt (2020)
for bass clarinet solo and large ensemble
2.2.2.bcl.1- Keyb-str(