European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Joel Sachs Leads the World Premiere of Xiaogang Ye's Strophe at Juilliard

Sep. 01, 2021

The New Juilliard Ensemble, led by Joel Sachs, will perform the US premiere of Xiaogang Ye's Strophe on September 28. The work was composed for the New Julliard Ensemble and Xinghai Conservatory of Music.

Strophe is a work that has been in the composer's mind for more than twenty years even as he worked on many other compositions, and, more recently, during the COVID pandemic, which postponed most live musical performance opportunities. Thus, the piece "contains twenty years of the composer's life [including] what he sees, feels, thinks about, the evolution of musical expressions, the impact of technology on the content, the composer's free and unrestrained spirit, the incurable pain of human nature, the unknown elements of the universe, and the confusion of thought." Composed during a period when Xiaogang Ye was a distinguished professor at the Xinghai Conservatory of Music in China, this is the first chamber piece that he has dedicated to them. The work is also dedicated to Joel Sachs and the New Juilliard Ensemble.

Listen to Xiaogang Ye's Gardenia (2017):

(Xiaogang Ye/Gardenia/Wu Man, pipa and Miro String Quartet)

To learn more about Xiaogang Ye, visit:

Xiaogang Ye
Strophe, Op. 26b (2020)
for ensemble