European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Hannah Lash and Fred Lerdahl at the 6th London Festival of American Music

Nov. 01, 2016

Hannah Lash and Fred Lerdahl at the 6th London Festival of American Music

The UK ensemble Lontano presents its 6th London Festival of American Music from November 6 to 11, led by conductor Odaline de la Martinez. The festival hosts Hannah Lash as guest composer and harpist in the UK premiere of her Three Shades Without Angles, for flute, viola and harp, on November 9. The work, which premiered in 2014, was commissioned by the Boston Symphony Chamber Players and was inspired by Rodin’s sculpture The Three Shades. Also on the program is the UK premiere of Lash’s Subtilior, Lamento, for chamber ensemble, conducted by Martinez.

As part of the Festival’s closing event on November 11, Lontano gives the UK premiere of Fred Lerdahl’s Give and Take, for violin and cello. Lerdahl’s music can also be heard in New York throughout the month, with a performance of Time after Time with the Da Capo Chamber Players conducted by Jeffrey Means at Merkin Hall (November 21) and Waltzes performed by members of the Berlin Philharmonic as part of the Orchard Circle concert series at the DiMenna Center (November 8).

For more information on Hannah Lash and Fred Lerdahl, visit

Hannah Lash
Three Shades Without Angles
for flute, viola and harp

Subtilior, Lamento (2011)
for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and cello

Fred Lerdahl
Give and Take (2014)
for violin and cello

Time After Time (2000)
for chamber ensemble

Waltzes (1981)
for violin, viola, cello and double bass