European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Ensemble Intercontemporain Debuts New Works by Hannah Lash and Matthias Pintscher at the Library of Congress

Nov. 03, 2015

Ensemble Intercontemporain Debuts New Works by Hannah Lash and Matthias Pintscher at the Library of Congress

On November 13, the Library of Congress hosts the renowned Paris-based Ensemble Intercontemporain for a concert of new and recent works as part of the ensemble’s residency and US tour, including the world premiere of works by Hannah Lash and Matthias Pintscher. The concert is led by Matthias Pintscher, the ensemble’s director, and takes place at the Library of Congress’s Coolidge Auditorium as part of the the 90th Anniversary Season of “Concerts from the Library of Congress.”

Lash’s Two Movements, for violin and piano, was commissioned by the McKim Fund in the Library of Congress. Violinist Diégo Tosi and pianist Dimitri Vassilakis give the work’s premiere. The concert also features the world premiere of Matthias Pintscher’s complete Profiles of Light cycle, which includes Now I for solo piano, Now II for solo cello, and Uriel for cello and piano. The program also includes György Ligeti’s Chamber Concerto for 13 players, Alban Berg’s Chamber Concerto for piano, violin and 13 winds, and Edgard Varèse’s Octandre, conducted by Pintscher.

The Library of Congress residency is part of the Ensemble Intercontemporain’s first US tour in 6 years, and the first under Pintscher’s leadership. Additional programs throughout the country include performances of Pintscher’s bereshit for chamber orchestra and beyond (a system of passing) for solo flute at UC Berkeley on November 7 and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on November 11.

For more information on Hannah Lash, visit

Visit and to learn more about Matthias Pintscher.

For information on the premieres, visit

Hannah Lash
Two Movements (2015)
for violin and piano

Matthias Pintscher
Now I (2015)
for solo piano

Now II (2015)
for solo cello

Uriel (2011/2012)
for cello and piano

Bereshit (2013)
for chamber orchestra
ca. 30'  

beyond (a system of passing) (2013)
for solo flute 

György Ligeti
Chamber Concerto (1969-1970)
for 13 instruments
1(pic).1(obd’am, ca).2(bcl).0- B3 org, harmonium).pno(cel)-str(

Alban Berg
Kammerkonzert (1925)
for piano, violin and 13 winds