European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Georg Friedrich Haas's Concerto Grosso No. 1 Debuts with Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Feb. 25, 2014

Georg Friedrich Haas's <em>Concerto Grosso No. 1</em> Debuts with Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

On March 28, Susanna Mälkki leads the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in the world premiere of Georg Friedrich Haas’s Concerto Grosso No. 1 at Herkulessaal in Munich. The work, scored for alphorn quartet and orchestra, features the renowned HORNROH Modern Alphornquartet, with members Balthasar Streiff, Heléne Berglund, Jennifer Tauder and Michael Büttler as soloists.

Concerto Grosso No. 1 was co-commissioned by Musica Viva of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Vienna Modern, the Zurich Tonhalle and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association. The premiere program also features the first performance of Salvatore Sciarrino’s Un ‘immagine di Arpocrate for piano, orchestra, and choir.

Later this season, the BBC Scottish Symphony gives the world premiere of Haas’s Concerto Grosso No. 2 for chamber ensemble and orchestra, as well as the UK Premiere of his Saxophone Concerto with soloist Marcus Weiss. The concert takes place in Glasgow on May 10 as part of the orchestra’s Tectonics 2014 Festival.

Information on Georg Friedrich Haas can be found at

For details on the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra premiere, please visit

For information on the Tectonics 2014 Festival, visit  

Georg Friedrich Haas
Concerto Grosso No. 1 (2013)
for 4 alphorns and orchestra

Concerto Grosso No. 2 (2014)
for chamber ensemble and orchestra

Saxophone Concerto (2008)
for baritone saxophone and orchestra