European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Alvin Singleton's Complete Argoru Series Performed at the Curtis Institute of Music

Mar. 01, 2021

Eight soloists from the Curtis Institute of Music's Ensemble 20/21 performed composer-in-residence Alvin Singleton's complete Argoru series of solo masterworks as part of a "Portrait of Alvin Singleton" concert on March 6. Additionally, on March 7, the concert was broadcast from the Curtis Institute of Music's Facebook Page and student performers who were coached on the Argoru series by Mr. Singleton responded in real-time to questions from the audience. The concert stream will remain available to view on the Curtis Institute's website.

The title "Argoru" comes from the Ghanaian Twi language meaning "to play." Singleton composed this kaleidoscopic series of solo works for eight different instruments over a period of more than thirty years. The composer will add to the series with Argoru IX, for solo violin, which has been commissioned by the Curtis Institute and will premiere there in spring 2022.

David Serkin Ludwig, artistic director of Ensemble 20/21, recently spoke to Mr. Singleton from his home in Atlanta. In this short video, he shares memories of what drew him to composition and some adventures while living in Europe, thoughts on his musical voice, and disbelief in how three decades can fly by!

                                             Alvin Singleton in Conversation with David Serkin Ludwig 

Digital scores for all of the works in Alvin Singleton's Argoru series can be purchased at Project Schott New York (PSNY):

       Argoru I (1970) for solo piano
       Argoru II (1970) for solo cello
       Argoru III (1971) for solo flute
       Argoru IV (1978) for solo viola
       Argoru V/a (1984/rev. 2011) for solo bass clarinet
       Argoru VI (1988) for solo marimba
       Argoru VII (1994) for solo vibraphone
       Argoru VIII (2002) for solo snare drum

On March 24, musicians of the Ensemble Modern, under the baton of Vimbayi Kaziboni, perform Alvin Singleton's Again as part of the 2021 MaerzMusik Festival. The group gave the German premiere of the work last November as part of their Festival NOW 2020!. This project, “Afro-Modernism in Contemporary Music,” was curated by the American musician, composer and academic George Lewis and features works by Alvin Singleton, Tania León, Daniel Kidane, Andile Khumalo, Hannah Kendall and Jessie Cox.  The MaerzMusik Festival will be streamed online this year. Attendees can stream each day's events by clicking here

To learn more about Alvin Singleton, please visit

Alvin Singleton
Again (1979)
for chamber orchestra
1(pic).1.1(bcl).1-, 4bng, 2tom-t)-pno-str(