European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Xiaogang Ye Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

May. 01, 2020

We are delighted to announce that Xiaogang Ye has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as an International Honorary Member along with over 250 outstanding individuals who have excelled in the fields of mathematics and physical sciences, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and arts, and public affairs, business, and administration.

Born on September 23, 1955, Xiaogang Ye is regarded as one of China’s leading contemporary composers. From 1978 until 1983, he studied at the Central Conservatory of Music in China, and after graduation he was appointed Resident Composer and Lecturer at the Central Conservatory of Music in China. From 1987, he studied at the Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester in New York. His former teachers include Minxin Du, Samuel Adler, Joseph Schwantner, Louis Andriessen and Alexander Goehr. Since 1993, Ye has divided his time between Beijing and Exton, Pennsylvania.

Ye is entrusted with cultural tasks as member of the Chinese Parliament, and he is presently Vice Chairman of China's Musicians' Association, Vice President of the Central Conservatory of Music, and Founder and Artistic Director of Beijing Modern Music Festival, one of the most important contemporary music festival in the Far East. He has received numerous prizes and awards, among others, the 1982 Alexander Tcherepnin prize, the 1986 Japan Dance Star Ballet prize, and awards from the Urban Council of Hong Kong (1987-94), the Taiwan Symphony Orchestra (1992), the China Cultural Promotion Society (1993), the Li Foundation, San Francisco (1994) and the Chinese National Symphony Orchestra (1996). In 2013, Ye was awarded with the China Arts Award. He was a fellow of the Metropolitan Life Foundation and the Pennsylvania Council of the Arts in 1996, and received a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation in 2012. Xiaogang Ye was the first Chinese composer to sign with Schott Music. For three decades, his works have drawn attention both in East Asia and in the West, being played by international orchestras and ensembles including the Munich Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, and Ensemble Modern. Read his full biography here.

Listen to a selection of works by Xiaogang Ye:

(Twilight of the Himalayas/Xiaogang Ye/Shanghai Opera House Chorus/
Shanghai Symphony Orchestra/Long Yu, conductor)

(Nine Horses/Xiaogang Ye/Ensemble Eclipse)

("Sunlight" and "Twilight" from Tianjin Suite/Xiaogang Ye/National Youth Orchestra of China/
Ludovic Morlot, conductor)

To learn more about Xiaogang Ye, visit: