European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

World Premiere of Vykintas Baltakas's Saxopho(e)nix

May. 01, 2019

World Premiere of Vykintas Baltakas's <em>Saxopho(e)nix</em>

On May 9, the Quasar Saxophone Quartet performs the world premiere of Vykintas Baltakas's Saxopho(e)nix. The concert will take place in Montréal at the Espace Aline-Letendre du Gesù. The composer notes:

"The title of the work is an amalgamation of the words Saxophone and Phoenix. In Greek mythology, the phoenix is ​​a beautiful bird that regenerates cyclically. Once a life cycle is over, the bird catches fire, before reborn through its own ashes. The shape of Saxopho(e)nix is ​​also cyclic, even circular. Through a continuous stream of vibratory sounds, each development brings us back to the original movement, where the sound material regenerates into cycles and unfolds again in a new way."

Listen to Baltakas' Commentum (2016) here:
(Commentum/Vykintas Baltakas/Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra/
Jonathan Berman, conductor/Francesco Dillon, solo violoncello)

For more information on Vykintas Baltakas, visit

Vykintas Baltakas
Saxopho(e)nix (2014)
for saxophone trio