European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

World Premiere of Ryan Wigglesworth's Clocks from a Winter's Tale at the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

May. 01, 2017

World Premiere of Ryan Wigglesworth's <em>Clocks from a Winter's Tale</em> at the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Following the critically acclaimed premiere of his first opera The Winter’s Tale earlier this season, Ryan Wigglesworth conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in the world premiere of Clocks from a Winter’s Tale, a new orchestral work based on themes from the opera. The performance takes place May 11 at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

Clocks from a Winter's Tale was co-commissioned by the Royal Concergebouw, The Hallé Orchestra and Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. Jonathon Heyward leads the Hallé Orchestra in the UK premiere on July 15 as part of the Cheltenham Music Festival.

(photos © Johan Persson) 

Wigglesworth’s opera, which debuted at English National Opera earlier this season, has been hailed by audiences and critics alike. Jonathan Cross wrote on the premiere for Opera Magazine, calling it “an engaging reading of Shakespeare’s play…expertly crafted, full of musical imagination, strong in dramatic impact and a vehicle for fine singing. It deserves to find a place in the repertoire.” The Winter’s Tale was directed by Rory Kinnear with a cast starring Iain Paterson, Sophie Bevan, Anthony Gregory and Leigh Melrose.

For more information on Ryan Wigglesworth, visit

Ryan Wigglesworth
Clocks from a Winter’s Tale (2017)
for orchestra
4(.3pic, 4.pic, afl), 3.bcl).2.cbsn-

The Winter’s Tale (2015-2016)
opera in three acts based on the play by William Shakespeare
libretto (Eng) by Ryan Wigglesworth
for soprano, 2 mezzo-sopranos, 3 tenors, 2 baritones, bass baritone, 2 basses, 3 tenors/baritones (ad lib), actor (silent role), and SATB chorus
4(3.pic, 4.pic, afl), 3.bcl).2.cbsn-