European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

World Premiere of Hannah Lash's Concerto No. 1 "In Pursuit of Flying"

May. 03, 2018

World Premiere of Hannah Lash's <em>Concerto No. 1</em> "In Pursuit of Flying"

On May 25, the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, led by Teddy Abrams, presents the world premiere of Hannah Lash’s Concerto No. 1 "In Pursuit of Flying" for piano and orchestra. The concert, featuring Jeremy Denk as the soloist, takes place at the Ordway Concert Hall in Saint Paul. Additional performances will follow on May 26, again at the Ordway Concert Hall, and on May 27 at the Ted Mann Concert Hall at the University of Minnesota.

Lash describes her new work:

In Pursuit of Flying is a piano concerto in three movements, all of which are connected thematically and structurally. The first movement features material that is clearly melodic in nature, and plays with the traditional form of a first movement for concertos.

The second movement is a dream-like exploration of dovetailing harmonies and themes. Unresolved dissonances are allowed to trail off into silence until a second character emerges--a kind of gentle dance which lives in a world that weaves freely into and out of the slower more emotionally charged music.

The final movement is a wild and spinning presto with ripping figures in the piano, romping through the ensemble and finally careening towards an explosive end.  

I am thrilled to have written this concerto for Jeremy Denk, who is one of my all-time favorite pianists; to write this piece for Mr. Denk and the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra is truly an honor. And I am profoundly grateful to Justus and Helen Schlichting for generously underwriting the commissioning of the piece.”

Listen to Hannah Lash’s Concerto No. 1 for Harp and Chamber Orchestra here:

(Concerto No. 1 for Harp and Chamber Orchestra by Hannah Lash/Hannah Lash, harp/
Yale School of Music/William Bougthon, conductor)

For more information on Hannah Lash, visit

Hannah Lash
Concerto No. 1 “In Pursuit of Flying” (2017)
for piano and orchestra