European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

World Premiere of Hannah Lash's Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra with the American Composers Orchestra

Oct. 02, 2015

World Premiere of Hannah Lash's <em>Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra</em> with the American Composers Orchestra

On October 23, composer and harpist Hannah Lash joins the American Composers Orchestra as soloist for the world premiere of her Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra at Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall. The work was co-commissioned by the ACO and the Orchestra of the Swan (UK). George Manahan leads the premiere, which takes place as part of the orchestra’s SONiC Festival/Orchestra Underground series. 

The composer shares some insight into her new work:

Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra is a piece that takes an intimate look at the harp ... I wanted to make a concerto for the harp that could take on all the ramifications of our perception of this instrument's character ... music that was mysterious and beautiful and at the same time fearful, aggressive, lonely. The harp's role as soloist is a strong one, it does not shrink from being foregrounded. But I do not intend to fight the harp's strengths and resonances nor do I want to turn it into something it's not.

On October 1, the New Haven Symphony debuted the first movement, Herbal, of Lash’s The Voynich Symphony, which was commissioned as part of the composer’s residency with the orchestra. The work’s four movements receive their premieres over the course of the next two seasons. The next movement, titled Astronomical, receives its premiere on May 19.

For concert details, visit and

To learn more about Hannah Lash, visit

Hannah Lash
Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra (2015)

The Voynich Symphony (2015)
for orchestra