European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

World Premiere of Anders Hillborg's Sound Atlas

Jan. 01, 2019

World Premiere of Anders Hillborg's <em>Sound Atlas</em>

On January 16, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Marin Alsop, performs the world premiere of Anders Hillborg's Sound Atlas at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London as part of a program titled "Here And Now: Isle of Noises". Sound Atlas was commissioned by London Philharmonic Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, NDR Elbpilharmonie Orchestra and Göteborgs Symfoniker.

Anders Hillborg notes:

"Sound Atlas is roughly divided into 5 sections: 1. Crystalline, 2. River of Glass, 3. Vaporised Toy Pianos, 4. Vortex, 5. Hymn. Glass Harmonica and string microtones both play significant roles in the work, contributing to the crystalline quality that is at the centre of its soundworld. After the Toy Pianos have ’vaporised’, this crystalline character fades and the music is plunged into ‘Vortex’ – a soundscape of violent, whirling, convulsive masses of sound. The music ascends from the whirlpool up to a brief crystalline moment, then plunges yet again into the abyss, finally resolving into the solemn string hymn which concludes the piece."

This is Anders Hillborg's second commission from the LPO: Mantra – Elegy (2018) was premiered by Vladimir Jurowski and the London Philharmonic Orchestra in April 2018, with the US premiere at the Aspen Festival following in July 2018. An homage to Stravinsky, the seven-minute work expands upon two emblematic chords from The Rite of Spring

Listen to Anders Hillborg's lontana in sonno (2002) here:

(lontana in sonno/Anders Hillborg/Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra/Kent Nagano, composer/
Anne Sofie von Otter, mezzo-soprano)

For more information about Anders Hillborg, visit

Anders Hillborg
Mantra-Elegy - Homage to Stravinsky (2018)

Sound Atlas (2018)
for full orchestra
3(1,2,3.pic).3.3(3.bcl)2.cbsn- harmonica-pno-str(