European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

US Premiere of Tansy Davies's Forest with Esa-Pekka Salonen and the New York Philharmonic

Mar. 30, 2017

US Premiere of Tansy Davies's <em>Forest</em> with Esa-Pekka Salonen and the New York Philharmonic

On April 27, Esa-Pekka Salonen leads the New York Philharmonic in the US premiere of Tansy Davies’s new concerto for four horns and orchestra—Forest—featuring the orchestra's four horns as soloists. The premiere takes place at Lincoln Center's David Geffen Hall with subsequent performances on April 28 (at Hillwood Concert Hall in Brookville, NY) and 29 (at Geffen Hall).

Following its debut performances in the UK and Spain with Salonen and the Philharmonia Orchestra, Forest has been hailed as a “bright, supple and fleet-footed” concerto with both “grit and wit” (The Times) — “It was as if [Davies] had put her head to the ground and recreated the roars and crackles of the forest” (The Observer).

Co-commissioned by the Philharmonia Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic and the Warsaw Autumn Festival, Forest was the brainchild of Esa-Pekka Salonen, who, as well as Davies, is a horn player himself. Teeming with what the Guardian called an “inventive energy”, Forest pits the quartet of soloists against a vast tapestry of orchestral sound. Davies writes:

The four horns represent the most human element of the work, and the journey of the piece is a growing dialogue between the soloists and the orchestra—or forest—that surrounds them.

In a preview trailer for the premiere (below), Davies discusses her inspiration for the piece, particularly the relationship of the horn and its origins in the forest:

Click here to view the score of Forest.

For more information on Tansy Davies, visit

Tansy Davies
Forest (2016)
a concerto for four horns