European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

US Premiere of Pēteris Vasks's Musica Serena

Jun. 06, 2018

US Premiere of Pēteris Vasks's <em>Musica Serena</em>

On June 16, the North Shore Chamber Music Festival Ensemble, led by Angela Yoffe, presents the U.S. Premiere of Pēteris Vasks's Musica Serena. Written in 2015 to honor the 70th birthday of Vasks's long-standing friend and Finnish conductor Juha Kangas, The seven-minute Musica serena spans a wide dynamic range, building up from softly shimmering violin harmonics in the ‘Andante cantabile’ to the central fortissimo of the ‘Maestoso’, gradually regaining its calm in the pianissimo and returning to the harmonic center of the work’s beginning. 

(Musica Serena/Pēteris Vasks/Pirmatskaņojums Latvijā/Normunds Šnē, conductor)

To learn more about Pēteris Vasks, please visit

Pēteris Vasks
Musica Serena (2015)
for string orchestra