European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

US Premiere of Luke Bedford's Seven Angels at the Aspen Music Festival

Jul. 01, 2017

US Premiere of Luke Bedford's <em>Seven Angels</em> at the Aspen Music Festival

British composer Luke Bedford’s timely chamber opera Seven Angels has its long awaited US debut in concert at the Aspen Music Festival on August 5. Yves Abel conducts the Aspen Contemporary Ensemble and Opera Center Singers in the premiere at the Harris Concert Hall. 

Bedford’s opera, composed for seven singers and twelve instruments, takes Milton’s Paradise Lost as a point of departure to explore the urgency of global warming with a group of angels who fall from the heavens into a mysteriously deserted landscape. Following its premiere with the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, it was hailed for its “atmospheric music” (The Times) and “impeccably crafted” score (Daily Telegraph).


This summer, the Aspen Festival also includes performances of Oliver Knussen’s Ophelia Dances Book I (July 15), Andrew Norman’s Try (July 22), Hannah Lash’s Moth Sketches (August 12) and Anders Hillborg’s Cold Heat (July 23) with Andrey Boreyko leading the Aspen Festival Orchestra. From August 15 to 19, the Festival mounts a production of Mozart’s La clemenza di Tito utilizing Bärenreiter’s Neue Mozart Ausgabe. Jane Glover leads the orchestra with direction by Edward Berkeley at the Wheeler Opera House. 

For more information on the composers, click below:

Luke Bedford | Anders Hillborg | Oliver Knussen
Hannah Lash | Andrew Norman

Luke Bedford
Seven Angels (2009-2011)
chamber opera in two acts
for seven singers and twelve instruments
soprano, 2 mezzo-sopranos, 2 tenors, baritone and bass-baritone

Anders Hillborg
Cold Heat (2010)
for orchestra

Oliver Knussen
Ophelia Dances Book 1 (1975)
for chamber ensemble

Hannah Lash
Moth Sketches (2013)
for chamber ensemble

Andrew Norman
Try (2011)
for chamber orchestra