European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Territorial Premieres of Two Orchestral Works by Victoria Borisova-Ollas

Jan. 15, 2022

This month sees territorial premieres of two orchestral works by Victoria Borisova-Ollas. On January 6, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, led by Han-Na Chang, performs the Dutch premiere of ... and time is running past midnight ... at the Konserthus in Copenhagen. The composer notes: 

"… and time is running past midnight … is rather short orchestral “post-scriptum” to my first opera Dracula. Though not containing any direct musical or scenographic quotes from the almost two hours long performance, this composition certainly is a sort of an echo of the intense emotional atmosphere of the Dracula score. The listener should of course feel free from having any associative bonds to the subject of Bram Stoker’s vampires and their adventures. The main theme of this composition, reflected mostly in the rhythmic structure of the score is the time which is running rapidly towards an unknown future."

On January 19, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Karina Canellakis, performs the UK premiere of The Kingdom of Silenceat Royal Festival Hall in London. Victoria Borisova-Ollas says:

"The mysterious country where we all should go to after our lifetime has many different names, The Kingdom of Silence is one of them. The composition starts as a lullaby where glockenspiel and celesta play a rather simple melody, wrapped in the "echo" of string instruments. Gradually we are sinking into a dream. Different scenes are appearing in a succession, sometimes linked to each other by the same tempi or divided by the sudden change of mood. With the return of the "lullaby", a long chain of events is finished. But the dream itself - does it ever end?

The Kingdom of Silence is written in memoriam of Nikolai Korndorf (1947-2001), an extraordinary personality among his generation of Russian composers."

(Victoria Borisova-Ollas/The Kingdom of Silence/
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra/Martyn Brabbins, conductor)

To learn more about Victoria Borisova-Ollas, visit:

Victoria Borisova-Ollas
… and time is running past midnight … (2014)
for orchestra

The Kingdom of Silence (2003)
for orchestra