European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Peteris Vasks's Violin Concerto No. 2 “In Evening Light” Premiered in Sweden

Jun. 01, 2021

Pēteris Vasks's  Violin Concerto No. 2 “In Evening Light” will be premiered on June 16 at the Ulriksdal Palace Theatre Confidencen in Sweden as part of the O/Modernt Festival. 

Almost twenty-five years after the internationally successful first violin concerto Distant Light, Pēteris Vasks has composed a second concerto for violin and string orchestra. The theme of light also plays a role in the content of the new work in which Vasks reflects on evening light as a metaphor for the twilight years of human beings. The central of the three movements, which flow seamlessly into one another, focuses on the individual looking back on life with its intermittent dramas, and leads into a virtuoso cadenza of ecstasy. In contrast, the slow and cantabile outer movements are characterised by a calm and melancholy atmosphere of farewell to life with a hopeful expectation of the (evening) light on the horizon.

The performance will be streamed live on

Listen to Pēteris Vasks's Violin Concerto No. 1 "Distant Light" (1996-97):

(Violin Concerto No. 1 "Distant Light"/Pēteris Vasks/Marc Bouchkov, violin/
Frankfurt Radio Symphony/Stanislav Kochanovsky, conductor)

To learn more about Pēteris Vasks, visit:

Pēteris Vasks
Violin Concerto no. 2 “In Evening Light” (2020)
for violin and orchestra