European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Omaha Symphony Orchestra Premieres Michael Daugherty's Lift Up Thine Ears

Jul. 15, 2021

Lift Up Thine Ears is a three-movement 20-minute symphony by Michael Daugherty, commissioned by the Omaha Symphony Orchestra to mark its centenary season. The orchestra premiered the work on June 11-12 under the baton of their retiring Music Director, Thomas Wilkins, in what is to be his 16th and final season with them. The June 12 performance was also streamed as part of the League of American Orchestras virtual annual conference.

The new work explores "how the human spirit can be uplifted by learning to listen with new ears." Each of the movements is inspired by lines from three writers: William Shakespeare, Martin Luther King, Jr. and Emily Dickinson.

The composer writes:

"The first movement recalls Shakespeare’s dramatic words, “Lend me your ears,” from his play Julius Caesar. These four words are echoed in a four-note musical motive that I have composed, which is heard at the beginning of the movement, played by the strings. I then develop the four-note motive through various orchestrations, melodic transpositions and rhythmic transformations.

The title of the second movement comes from Martin Luther King’s 1963 “Letter from Birmingham Jail,” where he wrote “it rings in the ear” as a lamentation and call for action after he was arrested for leading a civil rights protest. I have composed a musical lament introduced by the English horn and harp, developed by the woodwind section, and then leading into the cellos and French horns playing a melody that evokes Dr. King as “a wayfaring stranger traveling this world of woe.”   

The third movement turns a phrase from Emily Dickinson’s poem –“The Spirit is the Conscious Ear”-- into a celebration of the spirit, energy, and power of music.  

As they listen to each other, the conductor and the musicians of the orchestra, playing diverse instruments in the woodwind, brass, percussion and string sections, collaborate in pulsating rhythmic counterpoint to create an uplifting experience for all listeners.

It has been my great pleasure to compose this work in honor of Maestro Thomas Wilkins, who has enthusiastically conducted the Omaha Symphony for many years, in his own words, “to explore and celebrate the benefits of listening to each other” and to make “the orchestra a celebration of community through sound.”

(Michael Daugherty/Lift Up Thine Ears)

To learn more about Michael Daugherty, visit:

Michael Daugherty
Lift Up Thine Ears (2021)
for full orchestra