European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

New Publication of Atsuhiko Gondai's Post Festum for Violin

Apr. 01, 2021

Post Festum for violin (2019) by Atsuhiko Gondai was commissioned by violinist Ayana Tsuji. The three small pieces (IIIIII) were composed in response to the performer's requests for new encore pieces to follow the performance of a concerto. It is assumed that each piece will be performed individually but it is also possible for the three pieces to be performed together.

Each small piece has a different character for which the composer had a compatible concerto in mind; for I, Berg and Takemitsu, for II, Sibelius and Brahms, and for III, Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky. However, these associations are merely guideposts from which it is expected performers will diverge. 

After the world premiere of III was given at Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra’s concert on November 30, 2019, the world premiere of the entire work was given by Ayana Tsuji at a concert titled "Discovery Night" at the Chamber Music Garden series held at Suntory Hall on June 19, 2020.

Tsuji performed Post Festum in its entirety again this year on March 10 (Nagoya), March 12 (Tokyo), and March 14 (Osaka) during her recital tour, displaying the pieces' virtuosic charms that override the confines of their classification as "encore pieces".


Atsuhiko Gondai
Post Festum (2019)
for violin


ISBN : 978-4-89066-509-9
ISMN : 979-0-65001-292-8
JAN : 192-3073-01600-8

For more information about Atsuhiko Gondai, visit: