European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Jörg Widmann and the New World Symphony Give the US Premiere of Echo-Fragmente

Feb. 14, 2022

Jörg Widmann gives the US premiere of his work, Echo-Fragmente, on February 18 as part of the New World Symphony's concert titled "Clarinet Visions, Rhapsodies, and Echoes." Clarinet Visions is the third installment of NWS’s annual summit series that immerses participants in the world of a different orchestral instrument each year. Clarinet Visions’s opening concert welcomes the world’s finest clarinetists to perform alongside NWS Fellows in orchestral and chamber works by Claude Debussy, Carl Maria von Weber, Johannes Brahms, and festival guest artist Jörg Widmann.

Echo-Fragmente is a clarinet concerto written for two orchestras – one modern, the other Baroque, tuned to different frequencies.

(Excerpt from Jörg Widmann's Echo-Fragmente, 2006 - Orchestre de Paris)

In addition, on February 15, the Kebyart Ensemble performed the Austrian premiere of Jörg Widmann's 7 Capricci at the Musikverein. On February 16, Dima Slobodeniouk led the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra in the Finnish premiere of Widmann's Lied.

To learn more about Jörg Widmann, visit:

Jörg Widmann
Echo-Fragmente (2006)
for clarinet and orchestra groups
Orchestra I (443 Hz): 0.0.4(3.bcl.4.cb-cl).0-timp-perc-hp-cel-acc-str( 
Orchestra II (Baroque Orchestra, 430 Hz): 0.1(altblfl., 415 Hz).0.0-

7 Capricci (2021) 
for saxophone quartet

Lied (2003/2009)
for orchestra
3(3.pic).2.3.2( high tpt.3.0-perc-hp-acc-str(