European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

German Premiere of Andrew Norman's Switch

Jan. 01, 2020

German Premiere of Andrew Norman's <em>Switch</em>

On January 12, the MDR Sinfonieorchester, led by Michael Francis and featuring soloist Colin Currie, perform the German premiere of Andrew Norman’s concerto for solo percussion and orchestra, SwitchSwitch was premiered in 2015 with percussionist Colin Currie and the Utah Symphony, led by Thierry Fischer at Abravanel Hall in Salt Lake City. Of the work, Andrew Norman writes:

"Cast as a single movement, Switch takes off where my orchestral cycle Play left off in exploring non-linear narrative structures and video game logic. The percussionist’s many instruments act as triggers, turning other players on and off, making them play forward and backward, and causing them to jump to entirely different musical worlds.”

Listen to an excerpt from Andrew Norman’s The Great Swiftness (2010):

(The Great Swiftness/Andrew Norman/Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra/Jeffrey Kahane, conductor)

To learn more about Andrew Norman, visit

Andrew Norman
Switch (2015)
for solo percussion and orchestra