European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Finnish Premiere of Andrew Norman's Suspend with Conrad Tao

Jan. 01, 2021

The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, led by Sakari Oramo, gives the Finnish premiere of Andrew Norman's Suspend, featuring pianist Conrad Tao. The performance takes place on January 27 and will be streamed live on Yle Areena.

Suspend is a 20-minute fantasy for piano and orchestra. At the request of Emanuel Ax, the piece is a response to the music and creative spirit of Johannes Brahms and is based on two motifs that were significant to that composer. 

The pianist begins the piece in a sparse and lonely space, gradually ‘imagining’ the orchestra into existence as the ideas of the piece coalesce into long suspended lines. The piece ends with an extended meditation on musical ‘free play’, as the pianist and various members of the orchestra break free from the group and play uncoordinated, semi-improvised material.

(Suspend/Andrew Norman/Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester/Conrad Tao, piano/Susanna Mälkki, conductor)

To learn more about Andrew Norman, visit  

Andrew Norman
Suspend (2014)
a fantasy for piano and orchestra