European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Fazil Say's Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra Receives its World Premiere in Dresden

Mar. 01, 2019

Fazil Say's <em>Concerto</em> for Percussion and Orchestra Receives its World Premiere in Dresden

On March 29, Fazil Say's Concerto for percussion and orchestra receives its world premiere by the Dresden Philharmonic, led by Andris Poga, featuring soloist (and commissioner), Martin Grubinger. Additional performances follow on March 30 and 31.

Following Martin Grubinger’s performances in the world premieres of Fazıl Say’s Variations for two pianos and percussion (2013) and the cantata The Bells (2014), the composer has created a unique concerto especially for the percussionist.

The four movements in this highly energetic concerto are systematically named after the specific percussion instruments being used: I. Waterphone, II. Rototoms – Timpani, III. Vibraphone – Campana and IV. Marimba – Boobams. Although no Turkish instruments are used, the final movement, with instructions such as ‘in Istanbul gypsy style’ and ‘Slow Belly Dance’, displays unmistakeable Anatolian characteristics. 

Listen to Fazil Say’s Istanbul Symphony (2008-2009) here:

(Istanbul Symphony/Fazil Say/hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony/Howard Griffiths, conductor)

For more information about Fazil Say, visit:

Fazil Say
Concerto (2018)
for percussion and orchestra 1perc(5 P. · Vibr. · Marimba [5 Oktaven] · Röhrengl. · Boobams [2 Oktaven] · 10 Rototoms · Waterphone)-hp-str