European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Douglas J. Cuomo's No Fear (Of Silence) Debuts at the Tenri Cultural Institute

Nov. 01, 2017

Douglas J. Cuomo's <em>No Fear (Of Silence)</em> Debuts at the Tenri Cultural Institute

On November 19, the Tenri Cultural Institute in New York City presents the world premeire of No Fear (Of Silence), a new duo for shakuhachi and cello by Douglas J. Cuomo. Cuomo, whose work often blends Western and non-Western instruments in a colorful fusion of styles, composed his No Fear (Of Silence) specifically for the two soloists: James Nyoraku Schlefer (shakuhachi) and Wendy Law (cello).

Later this season, Cuomo sees the world premiere production of his latest operatic work, Ashes and Snow–“A Winterreise Dream” with the Pittsburgh Opera. The work is based on the “Winterreise” poems by Wilhelm Müller (famously set by Franz Schubert). The production opens February 17, with direction by Jonathan Moore and starring Eric Ferring as The Protagonist.

For more information on Douglas J. Cuomo, visit

Douglas J. Cuomo
No Fear (Of Silence) (2017)
for shakuhachi and cello

Ashes & Snow (2017)
(A Winterreise Dream)
a music-theatre piece in one act
text (Eng) adapted by the composer from the original poems by Wilhelm Müller
for tenor (amplified) and 3 on-stage musicians
trumpet (amplified, with improvisatory sections), piano (keyboards), electric guitar (with improvisatory sections), and electronics