European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Chatter Premieres Gregory Spears's The Census at Bethlehem and String Quartet No. 2 in Santa Fe and Albuquerque

Jun. 27, 2022

On May 28, Chatter gave the world premieres of Gregory Spears's The Census at Bethlehem, a new work for cello and harpsichord, and his String Quartet No. 2 at SITE Santa Fe. String Quartet No. 2 was written in the spring of 2022 and consists of six short sections. The first and last of these sections use a theme from one of the composer's earlier works, The Bitter Good, recomposed and reworked. The Census at Bethlehem is inspired by the painting of the same name by Pieter Bruegel the Elder of a snowy Flemish village made in 1566 during a period of European history often described at “The Little Ice Age."

Chatter performed both pieces the following day in Albuquerque.

Listen to an excerpt from Gregory Spears and Tracy K. Smith's Love Story (2021-22):

(Excerpt from Love Story by Gregory Spears and Tracy K. Smith/
Anthony Roth Costanzo, countertenor/New York Philharmonic/Jaap van Zweden, conductor)

To learn more about Gregory Spears, visit:

Gregory Spears
The Census at Bethlehem (2022)
for cello and harpsichord

String Quartet No. 2 (2022)