European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Information Regarding COVID-19:
Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely from home and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Happy 85th Birthday, Morton Subotnick!

Apr. 04, 2018

Happy 85th Birthday, Morton Subotnick!

We are delighted to celebrate Morton Subotnick's 85th birthday on April 14th. Morton Subotnick has been at the forefront of musical innovation for decades, establishing himself as a master of electronic music with the 1967 release of Silver Apples of the Moon and the creation of a 'ghost' box, which allowed for dramatic control over electronic processing. Subotnick’s notable works for ghost and live instruments include Liquid Strata for piano, The Wild Beasts for trombone and piano, Axolotl for solo cello, and A Fluttering of Wings for string quartet. The subtlety, sophistication and control over real-time electronic processing that Subotnick demonstrated in these innovative works secured his reputation as one of the world’s most important electronic music composers. Morton Subotnick was named a Pulitzer Prize finalist in 1980 for his work, After the Butterfly. He has written extensively for symphony orchestra, chamber ensembles, soloists, and composed a monodrama, Jacob's Room, for the Kronos Quartet and Joan La Barbara, which he subsequently developed into a full evening opera of the same name on commission from the Bregenz Festival in Austria. This season, Morton Subotnick and Lillevan have been on a world tour with "Silver Apples of the Moon Revisited." Upcoming performances take place in Norway in May, and in Germany and at Dartmouth College in June. For more information about tour dates and locations, please visit

With Ramon Sender, Subotnick co-founded the San Francisco Tape Music Center and along with Mel Powell, is responsible for the creation of the California Institute of the Arts. In addition, Subotnick has made his mark on technology-driven music pedagogy for young children, establishing Morton Subotnick's Music Academy with the aim of "building a solid musical foundation...teach[ing] listening skills and encourag[ing] creativity for students in grades K-6. The goal of the ear training in the 'academy' is to empower each student to hear and recognize the richness of musical expression. Now students of every ability level can experience the joy of hearing and creating music!"

For more information about Morton Subotnick, please visit

Morton Subotnick
A Fluttering of Wings (1981)
for string quartet and electronic ghost

After the Butterfly (1979)
for solo trumpet with chamber ensemble and ghost electronics
2 clarinets, 2 trombones, percussion, and 2 cellos

for solo cello and electronic ghost

Liquid Strata 
for piano and electronic ghost

Monodrama, from Jacob's Room (2012)
for voice, 2 violins, viola, cello and keyboard
ca. 25’

The Wild Beasts (1978)
for trombone, piano, and electronic ghost score