European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group
Information Regarding COVID-19

Our New York City office remains closed to protect the health and safety of all of our employees. During this time, we are doing everything possible to minimize disruptions to our daily operations. All employees are working remotely and remain fully contactable. If you have had to cancel or postpone a performance of a work from our catalogue, or are considering live streaming performances or streaming archival material, we are prepared to assist you in facilitating changes. Please direct all questions or concerns to

Please note:

  • All materials from canceled or completed performances should be returned to our Verona, New Jersey library only.
  • Please do not return materials to our New York office. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for lost materials that are returned to our New York office while it is closed. If materials are lost, we will have to charge the full replacement value.

Bärenreiter Launches "Masterpieces of Italian Opera" Series

Jun. 01, 2020

Bärenreiter-Verlag marks the start of a new series “Masterpieces of Italian Opera” (MIO) commencing with the publication of Ruggero Leoncavallo’s verismo opera Pagliacci, a work which belongs to the core repertoire of opera houses all over the world. At present four volumes will be published but further volumes are planned. The series was born out of the need for editions for both performance and research purposes. 

When the curtain rises on a performance of an Italian opera, few performers or listeners are aware that the work may have been revised by the composer, altered by censors, incorrectly reproduced by copyists, modified by singers and conductors, and further altered by publishers. Thus, performers and scholars often find it impossible to discern the composer’s original work from the subsequent revisions, modifications, and additions. On the basis of all relevant sources and the latest research, MIO restores the authoritative versions of some of the most significant works in the operatic repertoire. 

Aware of the rich performance tradition, MIO also allows for the performance of alternative, historically coherent versions via materials provided in the appendixes. These include, for instance, the shorter original version of Ruggero Leoncavallo’s Pagliacci, the original version of Pietro Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana with restored cuts and occasional higher keys, an alternative finale of Gaetano Donizetti’s Caterina Cornaro and a later version of Domenico Cimarosa’s Il matrimonio segreto, with a different structure and additional arias.

Each volume contains, in English and Italian, an historical introduction, a description of the sources and discussions regarding performance practice issues. The Critical Commentary, which provides alternative readings and justifications of editorial decisions, will be available in English on the Bärenreiter website. 

These MIO editions are mostly prepared in conjunction with specific performances or in consultation with leading conductors and singers. By means of this collaborative effort, Bärenreiter is able to offer editions that satisfy performers, audiences, and scholars alike.

To learn more about "Masterpieces of Italian Opera", click here.

Masterpieces of Italian Opera: The first four volumes

Ruggero Leoncavallo: Pagliacci. Editor: Andreas Giger. BA 7648-01. Full score (in preparation)

Pietro Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana. Edited by Andreas Giger. BA 7649-01. Full score.

Gaetano Donizetti: Caterina Cornaro. Edited by Hans Schellevis. BA 8747-01. Full score.

Domenico Cimarosa: Il matrimonio segreto. Edited by Federico Gon and Guido Olivieri. 
BA 7647-01. Full score.

Performance material available on hire at Bärenreiter · Alkor