European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Katherine Balch


Subtitlefor cello and piano
Year(s) composed2018
PublisherSchott Music
PremiereFebruary 19, 2019; Merkin Hall, NY; Zlatomir Fung (cello) and Tengku Irfan (piano)
CommissionCommissioned by Young Concert Artists, Inc.
Composer note

Prelude is a duo for cello and piano that was written to precede attacca into the Brahms e minor cello sonata without pause (though it may also be performed alone) and is affectionately written for and dedicated to Zlatomir Fung and Tengku Irfan.

– Katherine Balch

Partner Links

  • Schott Music