European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

The Del Sol Quartet Premieres Vijay Iyer's Spasm

Apr. 01, 2021

On March 27, the Del Sol Quartet premiered Vijay Iyer's Spasm at the Edoff Memorial Bandstand at Lake Merritt in Oakland, California. The work was written for "The Joy Project", an initative launched by the Del Sol Quartet to commission short works that could be performed outdoors, free of charge and in a socially-distanced manner, for audiences in the Bay Area.

Additionally, on April 11, the Shriver Hall Concert Series presents Vijay Iyer's For Violin Alone as part of Jennifer Koh's  "Alone Together" project. The composer notes:

"For Violin Alone is a meditative etude in three compact sections: a sequence of chordal phrases, a cycling central pattern with emerging polyphony, and a closing gesture that transforms a descending phrase from “Alone Together,” a standard from the American songbook. 

(Week 1 of "Alone Together" featuring Jennifer Koh)

To learn more about Vijay Iyer, visit:

Vijay Iyer
Spasm (2021)
for string quartet

For Violin Alone (2020)
for solo violin